customer profile: Pauline Farace

This week’s Customer Profile comes from San Jose, CA-based aesthetician Pauline Farace of Studio Joule & Joule Face Makeup Styling.

Name: Pauline Farace

Business: Studio Joule & Joule Face Makeup Styling

City and State of Business: San Jose, CA

1. How long have you been a skin health professional?

25 years

2. Why did you become a skin health professional?

I started out as a makeup artist and was encouraged to become an aesthetician as well; the two definitely go hand in hand. I liked the aspect of the skin care profession always having new opportunities for growth and knowledge.

3. Tell us about a time you improved a patient’s life by addressing their skin concerns.

I have had several clients with moderate to severe cases of hyperpigmentation; bringing them back to a state of feeling comfortable with their skin and enjoying their natural glow, along with having the confidence to venture out of the door with very little or no makeup. It makes me happy to see them feeling comfortable and having them share the compliments that they receive.

4. Do you have a favorite modality used in the treatment room?

I love the basics in my treatment room, such as my steamer, lamp, results-oriented products and my gentle hands.

5. What makes you a successful skin health professional?

When I bring new products and treatments into my studio, I share with my clients that I’ve already studied and experienced the products myself. My excitement starts before the new products are even in my studio. I believe it’s important to educate, assure and nurture my patients, so that they are also comfortable with the treatment that I have chosen for them. Everyone’s comfort level is different, so a customized approach is always good.

6. Why did you choose to partner with PCA SKIN?

I had seen PCA SKIN at various trade shows and their ads in trade journals over the years. I decided to broaden my range of peels that I was offering. Last year I finally visited the PCA SKIN booth at Face & Body and inquired about the training. I was impressed with all they had to offer in their “show package,” plus the PCA SKIN representative that helped me was both welcoming and informative. The ongoing and online education was a definite bonus; I would also say that PCA has the absolute best customer service! Whether I call in with just one question or five, they have always come through with answers and solutions for me.

7. What is your favorite PCA SKIN daily care product and why?

I love the Pigment Bar®. It is one of my best sellers and it’s a great solution for everyone with pigmentation issues. Pigment Bar® is economical, has a fresh clean scent, and leaves the skin feeling clean and looking bright. It is the best bar in a jar! I also really like the Post-Procedure Solution and the Daily Care Solution Sets; they are great little tools to have in your practice.

8. What is your favorite PCA SKIN professional treatment and why?

I love Sensi Peel®; it’s a great starting point for someone who has never experienced a peel. It also suits my more advanced peel clients. I really like the “progressive” approach to treatment. The retinoid boosters are also great to go along with Sensi Peel®.

9. What would you say to a newly certified PCA SKIN professional?

I would tell a newly certified PCA SKIN professional to take advantage of everything that is offered, from the additional training to the online courses to the samples sizes that are available; and to never feel that one single question is not an important one. The PCA SKIN staff is really there to help build your practice.

If you are a PCA Certified Professional interested in being profiled in this series, please email info@pcaskin.com.

Leave a Reply

