customer profile: Chelsea Van Note

This week’s Customer Profile comes from Arizona-based aesthetician Chelsea Van Note of Michele Hunter Aesthetics.

Name: Chelsea Van Note

Business: Michele Hunter Aesthetics

City and State of Business: Scottsdale, AZ

1. How long have you been a skin health professional?

5 wonderful years!

2. Why did you become a skin health professional?

I knew I wanted to work with skin in some way since middle school. The main reason I became an aesthetician is because of my own skin. Growing up I had cystic, painful, embarrassing acne. I got my first pimple in 4th grade, and my skin progressively got worse and continued past high school. I saw doctors and dermatologists, and after multiple trial and error, medications both topically and internally, they told me there was nothing more they could do unless I wanted to do Accutane. After reading the scary booklet about Accutane and all the possible side effects, I decided there had to be some other way. Becoming an aesthetician has been a blessing in more ways than one. I was able to diagnose and treat my own skin, and I have been able to use my passion and personal experience to relate to and help clients of all ages feel comfortable in their own skin!

3. Tell us about a time you improved a patient’s life by addressing their skin concerns.

A regular client I had when I was in Minnesota came to me for a facial and her biggest concern was her milia. This particular client had mature skin and up until that point had no solution to resolving her concern. We discussed proper skin care, what may be causing the milia and a regular facial schedule. After following my suggestions and instructions, she came back to me ecstatic; the milia were gone and under control! Being able to cure clients’ concerns and seeing how confident they become is one of the greatest feelings!

4. Do you have a favorite modality used in the treatment room?

Microdermabrasion is my secret weapon. I love that I can control how aggressive or sensitive I can make the treatment, and also be able to concentrate more on some areas of concern if need be. Microderm allows me to slough off the dull, dry skin cells to get better extractions, give my client that healthy glow, and of course make that skin texture feel silky smooth.

5. What makes you a successful skin health professional?

I believe being honest with my clients is what has made me the successful aesthetician I am! Honesty builds trust, which is very important to me. Having a trusting relationship with my clients allows me to take care of their skin and help them achieve the results they are looking for!

6. Why did you choose to partner with PCA SKIN?

Since I moved to the Valley, I have heard nothing but good things about PCA products and PCA’s education. I am always eager for continuing education and after taking classes at PCA I was excited to get into the treatment room to share my knowledge and new products with my clients!

7. What is your favorite PCA SKIN daily care product and why?

I am in love with PCA’s BPO 5% Cleanser; it is actually what I use at home! One of the reasons it is so great is you can apply it like a mask in the shower while you do everything else, then come back and finish cleansing your face. It takes cleansing to a whole new level, and my skin hasn’t been this clear and refreshed in a long time!

8. What is your favorite PCA SKIN professional treatment and why?

PCA SKIN’s peels have made me a believer! Previous to working with PCA, I was not a fan of chemical peels; I didn’t like how they felt and believed I got better results with microdermabrasion. It is hard for me to pick my favorite PCA peel because I love them all! I like that I can get great results using the PCA modified Jessner’s peels on my more resilient clients, as well as with the Sensi Peel® on my more sensitive clients! Being able to comfortably add on correctors and boosters to enhance the treatment is what puts PCA peels ahead of competitors!

9. What would you say to a newly certified PCA SKIN professional?

It may seem overwhelming at first with all the different combinations of products, but don’t fret! There is nothing wrong with using your cheat sheet to maximize your treatment and get those results that will make both yourself and your client amazed!

If you are a PCA Certified Professional interested in being profiled in this series, please email info@pcaskin.com.

Leave a Reply

