customer profile: Kimberly Chadwell

This week’s Customer Profile comes from Ohio-based aesthetician Kimberly Chadwell of Great Skin by Kim.

Name: Kimberly Chadwell

Business: Great Skin by Kim

City and State of Business: Dayton, OH

1. How long have you been a skin health professional?

Since 2006.

2. Why did you become a skin health professional?

I was unhappy in my career and questioning my plans to continue on for a Masters degree. I was very interested in going to school for massage, but also knew that I had a fascination with skin care. My aesthetician at the time, who became a mentor in my career, suggested that aesthetics might satisfy my interests in both areas. Plus, burnout in my current field led me to desire a career where I could come away happy and feel like I made someone’s day better. On an added side note, I am now back in school to become a licensed medical massage therapist as well.

3. Tell us about a time you improved a patient’s life by addressing their skin concerns.

I hope that I am always improving my patients’ lives by addressing their skin concerns. I know that rosacea and acne caused embarrassment and lack of confidence in myself growing up and even into early adulthood. Proper skin care and makeup has completely changed how I feel about myself and I want to share that benefit with my clients. I do have one client that developed melasma after going through cancer treatments. The last thing a cancer survivor needs is a permanent reminder of her illness on her face. She treated it quickly and we had success with Ultra Peel I and PCA Peel with Hydroquinone in just a few sessions. I have another client that does modeling, and the harsh makeup and constant cleansing was creating irritation, acne and asphyxiation. When she first came to me, her skin was on fire with disrupted barrier function from everything she had been doing to it. One sample of Hydrating Serum and Clearskin showed her a new way of caring for her skin, and now she absolutely loves her skin and will use any treatment or product that I recommend from PCA.

4. Do you have a favorite modality used in the treatment room?

I specialize in only superficial chemical peels. In past positions, I had experience with medium depth chemical peels, microdermabrasion, LED, laser resurfacing and thermal treatments. When I opened my own practice, I really felt that I could treat almost every client and every condition successfully with minimal contraindications and downtime by just using PCA SKIN treatments. I love PCA!

5. What makes you a successful skin health professional?

I think my success stems from immense education and the ability to share it with my clients. I can thoroughly explain to them what is occurring with their skin, and how my treatments and products will correct the situation. I have experienced many skin conditions myself and use all of the treatments and products that I recommend. I believe in what I offer, I practice what I preach and I really care about my clients.

6. Why did you choose to partner with PCA SKIN?

I was introduced to PCA SKIN at my first job out of school. It was the first product line I used that actually produced visible results in my skin and I was hooked! The treatments and products work great, and the price is accessible for many people. Plus, you absolutely cannot beat the education and support that PCA provides to its partners.

7. What is your favorite PCA SKIN daily care product and why?

Clearskin is my absolute favorite product from PCA SKIN and my best seller. It is so difficult sometimes to convince oily, acneic or sensitive patients to use a regular moisturizer. All it takes is one sample of Clearskin to show them there is a product that works! It feels lightweight, yet provides so much hydration, and soothes and heals breakouts and sensitivities so well.

8. What is your favorite PCA SKIN professional treatment and why?

Ultra Peel I is my favorite professional treatment. It gives amazing results with such minimal after effect and is good for nearly all clients. If I only had one treatment to work with, that is what I would keep around.

9. What would you say to a newly certified PCA SKIN professional?

I would tell a newly certified PCA SKINprofessional that they made the right choice! Also, I would tell them not to be afraid of chemical peels. Some people are very hesitant to perform and/or receive these treatments because “chemical peel” sounds so scary. I would reassure them that PCA has made the safest treatments that are so easy to use with minimal side effect.

If you are a PCA Certified Professional interested in being profiled in this series, please email info@pcaskin.com.

Leave a Reply

