customer profile: Laurel Creek Wellness Center

This week’s Customer Profile comes from North Carolina-based Amy Townsend and Alison Snider of Laurel Creek Wellness Center!

Name:  Amy Townsend, LE & Alison Snider, MD

Business: Laurel Creek Wellness Center

City and State of Business: Kernersville, NC

1. How long have you been a skin health professional?

I just recently became a skin health professional.

2. What skin conditions do you primarily treat?

I treat Fitzpatrick skin types I – VI, and focus primarily on aging and acne-prone patients.

3. Why did you become a skin health professional?

I actually became a skin health professional after seeing my sister Dr. Alison Snider’s skin transformation after she started using PCA SKIN products.  I was an attorney and had no real interest in becoming a skin care professional at all. My sister and I were both using another professional skin care line that we were satisfied with, at the time. Seeing the results that my sister had after using PCA SKIN for a month or two, and then starting PCA SKIN myself and seeing the visible difference in the tone and texture of my skin, prompted me to want to help others learn how their skin could visibly improve as well.  So, to make a long story short, I became a skin health professional because of PCA SKIN and I couldn’t be happier!

4. Tell us about a time you improved a patient’s life by addressing their skin concerns.

I went to aesthetics school with a young lady who has really suffered with acne, and been extremely embarrassed and self-conscious about her skin. She wore lots of makeup to cover up her acne and she didn’t understand why nothing she tried worked. Even in aesthetics school, she couldn’t figure out why she had acne, and yet her skin was so dry and dehydrated. We tried numerous treatments at school, but nothing seemed to help. We ended up doing a skin analysis and got her started on PCA SKIN daily care products. Her skin has improved to the point where she doesn’t even wear makeup most of the time now. She is addicted to the PCA SKIN Anti-Redness Serum and Hydrating Serum! It is amazing to see how her self-confidence has risen as her skin has cleared up.

5. Do you have a favorite modality used in the treatment room?

Not really.  I do like microdermabrasion, but my favorite thing to do is peels.

6. What makes you a successful skin health professional? 

I love talking to people, and giving them information and options to feel better about their appearance. I am absolutely in love with the PCA SKIN line, and so it makes it so easy to talk to clients about what I have tried that has worked and how I have seen improvement in my skin. I have NEVER had anyone tell me that I had beautiful skin until I started to use PCA products. While in aesthetics school, I had several clients say that they wanted their skin to look like mine! I was able to share with them how their skin could look like mine, too, by using the right products. For me it’s all about giving the clients the information and options to improve their skin, which very often improves their lives.

7. Why did you choose to partner with PCA SKIN?

My sister heard about PCA SKIN from another licensed medical aesthetician.  My sister and I were both using other professional grade skin care lines at the time, but once she tried PCA SKIN, she convinced me that I needed to switch and try it, too. We both fell in love with the PCA SKIN line, and so there was no question which product line we would use in our medical spa.

8. When did you start treating patients with PCA SKIN daily care products and professional treatments? 

April 2013

9. What is your favorite PCA SKIN daily care product?

It’s a tie.  I love Rejuvenating Serum because it is just absolutely amazing, and I also love ExLinea® Peptide Smoothing Serum for it’s Botox-like effect on my wrinkles. But my current favorite product (if I have to choose just one!) is the Peptide Lip Therapy. I sell quite a few of those because my lips are living proof that it really works! I apply it to everyone who is in my chair! When you see incredible results, like less wrinkles and plumped lips, as I have while using it, what’s not to love? And I just want to share my love of the product with everyone else!

10. What is your favorite PCA SKIN professional treatment?

Probably the Sensi Peel®, just because I feel 100% confident in using that product on any client who walks through the door since I know that they will not leave my spa irritated or red. It is a great go-to peel for any client with sensitive skin, or who has never had a peel before and is nervous about the results.

11. What would you say to a newly certified PCA SKIN professional? 

Well, I am a newly certified PCA SKIN professional myself, so I would say, first of all, share your enthusiasm with your clients! If you are excited about the results you see from the products that you use, it’s contagious and your clients will be excited, too! I feel so very fortunate to be in a line of work where you can make people feel better about themselves. I’m grateful to have a line of products to work with that is gentle yet effective, and that I really believe in because I have personally seen the results.

Starting out, I don’t know all the answers, but I do know that whenever I have a question about any product, or need advice on a peel, I just pick up the phone and call PCA SKIN and I can talk to a licensed aesthetician — and I’ve done that many times! That gives me so much comfort and confidence.

I have also benefited tremendously from the in-office training that we received from PCA SKIN. Having Dr. Wild come in and train us in our office was the icing on the cake! That additional hands-on training in a small group setting definitely gave me the added confidence to feel really comfortable with skin biology and client consultations.

Finally, I would say use your Practice Development Adviser at PCA SKIN! I have called Jamie numerous times and she has always been there to talk me through everything from how to send out a letter of introduction to clients, to planning an open house. She is amazing! I have felt supported and encouraged every step of the way by my PCA SKIN professionals, so we are definitely PCA SKIN clients and users for life!

If you are a PCA Certified Professional interested in being profiled in this series, please email info@pcaskin.com.

2 Responses to customer profile: Laurel Creek Wellness Center

  1. Amy Townsend says:

    Thank you so much for the customer profile! We truly appreciate Jamie Justesen’s tireless efforts to always be there for us! She has definitely made PCA Skin personal for us. Thanks again!

    Amy Townsend

  2. Buddy Weiss says:

    We have had several skin care treatments at Laurel Creek Wellness Center and we use quite a few of the PCA products. These people are very professional, knowledgeable and offer a wide range of services for both women and men. I feel even more comfortable knowing that this is all done under the supervision of a licensed physician. We have been to several open houses that they have had and met your PCA sales professional and have seen and learned a lot about your products. You have done an excellent job in educating the people at Laurel Creek Wellness Center, but most of all, they have done an even better job learning about your products and communicating that information to us as a client. Thank you for featuring such great people. They deserve it.

    Buddy and Susan Weiss
    Kernersville, NC

Leave a Reply

