customer profile: James Vivian

This week’s Customer Profile comes from Australia-based beauty therapist James Vivian!

Name: James Stegley Vivian

Business: The Traveling Peelsman

City and State of Business: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

1. How long have you been a skin health professional?

Passionately, since 2007.

2. What skin conditions do you primarily treat?

I have the privilege of working with a full spectrum of skin types and consult on conditions predominantly concerning sun damage, hyperpigmentation, ageing and general skin health concerns.

3. Why did you become a skin health professional?

My career as a beauty therapist began unexpectedly. As a teenager, I always had an appreciation for beautiful skin and a committed skincare routine; however, I was on an alternative career pathway of singing, songwriting and performing.

In 2005, I began working part-time as a sales consultant for the Australian skin, hair and body care brand, Aesop. On my first shift I received a life-changing facial. At the treatments end I roused from my facial-coma exclaiming, “I want to make people feel this amazing.” Two years later I enrolled in beauty school.

4. Tell us about a time you improved a patient’s life by addressing their skin concerns.

I’ll always remember my first time…I had been working with this particular patient for about six months and she had concerns of sensitivity and hormonal breakouts. She had battled with the physical manifestations of these conditions combined and, as a therapist herself, had never managed to get it under control. She always found that by focusing on one concern, it would exacerbate the other.

It surprised and touched me deeply when she told me that, through our time together, I had made a difference to her life. To me, I was merely doing my job, and until this time had not understood the psychological impact of what we as therapists are able to achieve.

5. Do you have a favorite modality used in the treatment room? 

Cutera’s Laser Genesis Skin Therapy (Nd: YAG 1064nm) is my favourite modality to use due its no-downtime and no-discomfort approach to skin rejuvenation. Its gentle heating of the papillary dermis makes it a superb choice for reducing skin redness and provides an immediate improvement to skin texture and brightness.

At The Traveling Peelsman’s clinic – Melbourne Aesthetic Health Care – we offer the MAHC Signature Luminescence Treatment, incorporating a unique combination of topical ingredients and a specific dosage of Cutera’s Laser Genesis Skin Therapy.

6. What makes you a successful skin health professional?

My philosophy as a skin health professional is based on the exchange of ethical, honest and scientifically validated information to all patients. Through education, patients play a more active role in the management of their skin and are better equipped to achieve their skincare goals.

7. Why did you choose to partner with PCA SKIN?

My first experience with PCA SKIN was during a visit to America in 2011. A close friend of mine was using PCA SKIN is her clinic in CA and we did a treatment swap. I was extremely happy with the results from the treatment, and was even happier to see the PCA SKIN logo whilst attending the International Congress of Esthetics and Spa the following week.

It was here that I spoke with a few PCA SKIN representatives and also had the pleasure of attending two inspirational lectures by both Dr. Jennifer Linder and Michelle Goldsmith.

I purchased A LOT of PCA SKIN that day and was thrilled when PCA SKIN began distributing to Australia the following year.

8. When did you start treating patients with PCA SKIN daily care products and professional treatments?

I began treating patients with PCA SKIN professional treatments upon my return from America in 2011. In 2012, PCA SKIN began distributing an anti-ageing focused range to Australia and I have been coupling professional treatments – PCA SKIN and beyond – with their daily care products ever since.

9. What is your favorite PCA SKIN daily care product and why?

With it being winter currently in Australia, my current favourite PCA SKIN daily care product to share with my patients is Body Therapy. It contains all the right ingredients to keep the skin conditioned long after its use. Patients are overwhelmed with the feel and look of their skin, especially if they have tried other topical body products in the past unsuccessfully.

10. What is your favorite PCA SKIN professional treatment and why?

In Australia, we do not have access to the full range of PCA SKIN professional treatments due to strict ingredient regulations, including resorcinol and TCA. Our professional treatment options are therefore limited, however, I do love the Oxygenating Trio. It is a wonderful treatment to win a client over, as it yields results without any downtime. It is also a welcomed relief to a patient who has been experiencing a course of higher strength chemical peeling treatments, as they can still receive a satisfying result, but without the downtime they are used to. It is extremely versatile and I perform it frequently also as a pre-occasion treatment 24-48 hours before a special event.

11. What would you say to a newly certified PCA SKIN professional?

Congratulations! Partnering with PCA SKIN will not only allow you to offer your clients exquisite daily care products and professional treatments, it will also allow you to grow as an intuitive, experienced and knowledgeable aesthetician and, if appropriate, business owner.

If you are a PCA Certified Professional interested in being profiled in this series, please email info@pcaskin.com.

Leave a Reply

