customer profile: Cherie Callahan

Welcome to the first in a new series of Customer Profiles from PCA SKIN®. Today’s profile comes from California-based aesthetician Cherie Callahan!

Name: Cherie Callahan

Business: Cherie Callahan – Place Of Radiant Beauty

City and State of Business: Pleasanton, CA 94588

1. How long have you been a skin health professional?

I have been in the industry for over 15+ years; 10 years on the retail side and 5 years practicing as a licensed aesthetician.

2. What skin conditions do you primarily treat?

I treat patients with acne, redness, aging, laxity and hyperpigmentation.

3. Why did you become a skin health professional?

I had worked on the retail side of the business both as a District Manager and as a Regional Manager for PureBeauty Stores. I loved working with customers, helping them to better understand their skin and suggesting the right skin care line for them. We had aestheticians located inside each store to help me with that relationship. I found myself longing to work from behind the facial bed. Now, I never go to “work,” I’m living the dream!

4. Tell us about a time you improved a patient’s life by addressing their skin concerns.

I had a client (age 63) who had thick, pigmented, sagging skin. She had tanned in her early years and, because of her high Fitzpatrick skin type, she had huge pigmentation spots all over her face. The collagen had been destroyed by extensive sun exposure. Her son was a client of mine at the time and suffered from adult acne. The son wanted me to meet his mom after I had success treating his acne. After a series of treatments over a six-month period, I was able to bring this client’s face to about 85% clarity. We’re still working on making it better each month. The client told me that she feels “pretty” for the first time in her life! She told me that she has so much more confidence in all of her relationships because she feels like she’s putting her best face forward. This client’s success was possible because I really took the time to make sure she was pH balanced before I did anything too extensive. Light injury, done more often, turned out to be the answer for this client.

5. Do you have a favorite modality used in the treatment room? (e.g. microdermabrasion, galvanic, microcurrent, etc.)

It’s very hard for me to select which modality I like the best. I feel that it’s very important for every aesthetician to become familiar with all modalities available to them in order to get the best results possible. Also, skin has memory, leaving it prone to becoming less reactive to treatments performed too often. Skin needs a bit of a “surprise” for it to perform at its best. One of the most important skills an aesthetician can develop is the eye for identifying when a clients skin is “stuck” and needs to be gently awakened.

6. What makes you a successful skin health professional?

Hands down, professionalism is what makes me successful. To be considered a true professional, one must master her/his skills in all areas: customer service, continued investment in their learning, continued investment in their business (i.e. purchasing equipment, retail stock, samples, etc.). Every aesthetician should look herself/himself in the mirror before going into their business and ask themselves this question: “If I were a client, would I believe in this reflection?” Without trust, that aesthetician will never achieve the level of success that is possible in this wonderful industry.

7. Why did you choose to partner with PCA SKIN?

I chose PCA SKIN because I loved the company’s approach to healthy skin. They understand that balancing the skin correctly enhances the end results of any professional skin care treatment. PCA SKIN teaches the aesthetician to be the consultant. This requires the aesthetician to invest in their education so they are in a better position to help lead the client to a healthy pattern of treatment rather than reacting to what the client may believe is in their best interest. This is why the trust I mentioned previously is so very important to establish upfront. If the aesthetician is “following” the client’s program, she/he hasn’t been given the trust from the client. Therefore, they are not operating as a true professional. Two cooks in the kitchen almost never work. Earning the client’s trust to let you lead is the key ingredient to success. PCA SKIN does a great job of helping the aesthetician feel confident enough to take the lead. From PCA SKIN’s great education seminars, to their team of skilled, licensed consultants, partnering with PCA SKIN results in a very supportive relationship between the company and their customer, the aesthetician. In the end, I chose PCA SKIN because true professionals like doing business with other professionals.

8. When did you start treating patients with PCA SKIN daily care products and professional treatments?

I started working with PCA SKIN in 2009.

9. What is your favorite PCA SKIN daily care product? Why?

Perfecting Protection Broad Spectrum SPF 30 is my favorite PCA SKIN product. I love this moisturizer/SPF. I like the way this product looks on most skin types; it leaves a glowing appearance. The amount of hydration is perfect for average/dry skin and it helps to inhibit pigmentation. I keep a bottle in my car to protect my hands when I have a lengthy drive. It helps to protect me from those nasty pigmentation spots on the hands. I’ve used the Smoothing Body Peel® to remove pigmentation from my arms and hands, and Perfecting Protection Broad Spectrum SPF 30 really shows off my new “pigment-free” look.

10. What is your favorite PCA SKIN professional treatment? Why?

There are so many great professional treatments. My two favorite treatments would have to be: Smoothing Body Peel® and Oxygenating Trio®. I have had so much success removing photo aging, pigmentation spots, improving collagen, etc., on body parts with the Smoothing Body Peel®. My clients just love how the body peel leaves their skin feeling. I can testify that when I finished with my body treatments on my hands and arms, many of my friends and family commented on how soft and hydrated my skin looked. I’ve even helped clients soften the appearance of scarring and removed thick texture on the décolletage due to excessive sun exposure. The Oxygenating Trio® is such a great “go to” for those clients that need oxygen to bring their skin back to health. Patients who are breakout-prone, someone who has suffered with an illness or someone who has been traveling can benefit from the Oxygenating Trio®. It’s just the right way to bring the skin back without peeling. I just love how glowing the skin looks after this treatment.

11. What would you say to a newly certified PCA SKIN professional?

I would tell them to take full advantage of all PCA SKIN has to offer in the way of training and support. The daily care and professional treatments are written out well in the manual they provide at their training. This is a great skin care line for a new client who is not pH balanced. PCA SKIN is affordable, gentle, yet effective and is sure to prepare both the client and the aesthetician for future, more aggressive treatments.

If you are a PCA Certified Professional interested in being profiled in this series, please email info@pcaskin.com

4 Responses to customer profile: Cherie Callahan

  1. K.Comm says:

    Hello, I’ve tried several times to respond via info@pcaskin.com and my email bounces back. Just thought you should know.

  2. I have been receiving treatments from Cherie Callahan, since she started 5 years ago. I am always amazed at the change in my skin. Cherie has recommended treatments & products which are designed to my skin type which has reversed my ageing process. Cherie has brought my skin back to life by treatments & training me in home care & use of correct products

  3. Melissa says:

    Hi Cherie, when you mentioned you made sure her skin was ph Balanced first? How were you sure of that? Did you have her start with PCA condition specific trial kit? Just wanted to know how you made certain. Thanks Melissa Slagle

Leave a Reply

